Board of Education of Baltimore County

6901 Charles Street

JoAnn C. Murphy, President

Towson, MD 21204-3711

RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) has decided to submit an application for Race to the Top funds from the United States Department of Education; and
- WHEREAS, The State of Maryland is eligible for funding in a range of \$150,000,000 to \$250,000,000, of which amount 50% must go directly to participating local education agencies; and
- WHEREAS, MSDE has prepared a document entitled "Maryland's Race to the Top Participating Local Education Agency Memorandum of Understanding," which, by its terms, is "to establish a framework of collaboration, as well as to articulate specific roles and responsibilities in support of MSDE in its implementation of an approved Race to the Top grant project; and
- WHEREAS, Any local education agency wishing to participate in the submission of the Race to the Top grant must agree to and sign the Memorandum of Understanding and must certify and agree to certain assurances contained in that Memorandum and in Exhibit 1, thereto; and
- WHEREAS, The Board of Education of Baltimore County is desirous of participating in the Race to the Top grant; now, therefore be it
- RESOLVED, This 23rd day of February, 2010, that the Board of Education of Baltimore County expresses its desire to be a "Participating Local Education Agency" in Maryland's Race to the Top grant and agrees to the terms and conditions contained in MSDE's Memorandum of Understanding; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Board President is expressly authorized to sign the Memorandum of Understanding committing the Board of Education of Baltimore County to the terms and conditions contained in the MOU and Exhibit 1, thereto; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Superintendent is hereby directed to sign the MOU and Exhibit 1, thereto, and is further directed to take the steps he deems necessary to implement the terms of the MOU and Exhibit 1, thereto.

JoAnn C. Murphy, President

Joe A. Hairston, Secretary-Treasurer

February 23, 2010

JoAnn C. Murphy, President H. Edward Parker, Jr., Vice President James E. Coleman Joe A. Hairston, Secretary-Treasurer Earnest E. Hines Rodger C. Janssen Ramona N. Johnson Mary-Margaret O'Hare Joseph J. Pallozzi Valerie A. Roddy Lawrence E. Schmidt David Uhlfelder Jacqueline Zoe Camp