## **BOARD OF EDUCATION OF BALTIMORE COUNTY BUILDING AND CONTRACTS COMMITTEE**

Education Transparency Act Description Tuesday, May 5, 2020

The following is a full and accurate description of the final actions taken at the meeting and are provided in accordance with the Education Transparency Act, Md. Ed. Code Ann., §3-2B-09(b)(3). If there is a discrepancy between the video and this description, the video, which constitute the official minutes of the meeting, shall control. The video/audio recordings of the Board of Education are the official record of the meetings and can be viewed at: https://vimeo.com/415591930.

The Building and Contracts Committee of the Board of Education of Baltimore County met virtually on Tuesday, May 5, 2020, beginning at 3:30 p.m.; the follow Committee members were present: Julie Henn, Chair; Lily Rowe, Vice Chair and Rodney McMillon.<sup>1</sup>

In addition, the following staff members were present during the meeting: Margaret-Ann Howie, Esquire, General Counsel; Andrew Nussbaum, Esquire, Counsel to the Board of Education; Mary Boswell-Mccomas, Chief Academic Officer; William Burke, Chief Organizational Effectiveness; Mychael Dickerson, Chief of Staff; Brian Scriven, Chief Administrative Operations Officer; Michael Zarchin, Chief School Climate and Safety; Maria Lowry, Acting Chief Human Resources Officer; Christina Byers, Community Superintendent, Central Zone; Racquel Jones, Community Superintendent, West Zone; George Roberts, Community Superintendent, East Zone; Renard Adams, Senior Executive Director, Department of Curriculum Operations; Barbara Burnopp, Senior Executive Director, Department of Administrative Services; James Corns, Executive Director, Department of Information Technology; Pradeep Dixit, Executive Director, Department of Facilities Management; Ryan Imbriale, Executive Director, Department of Innovative Learning; April Lewis, Executive Director, Department of School Safety; Amalio Nieves, Executive Director, Department of Social-Emotional Support; Charles Patillo, Executive Director, Department of Business Services Operations; George Sarris, Executive Director, Department of Fiscal Services; Megan Shay, Executive Director, Department of Academics; Melissa Whisted, Executive Director, Department of Academic Services; Kimberly Ferguson, Director, Office of Student Support Services; Karen Levenstein, Director, Office of Food and Nutrition Services; and Susan Slade, Administrative Assistant, Department of Fiscal Services.

## **Recommended Awards**

Messrs. Sarris and Dixit presented the following recommended awards to the Committee:

- L1. RGA-162-06 Modification: AVID Center Program
- L2. JMI-612-18 Modification: Textbooks and Instructional Materials
- L3. JBO-724-20 Public Notice Digital Content
- L4. CWA-133-20 Third-Party World Languages Assessment
- L5. JBO-714-20 Math and Science Supplementary Supplies and Equipment
- L6. JBO-708-20 Art Photography Supplies
- L7. LKO-417-18 Modification: Active Assailant Training
- L8. LKO-409-20 Location for Graduation Exercises
- L9. ARA-209-20 Records Management Services
- L10. LKO-408-20 Onsite Fitness Classes

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Kathleen Causey, Board Chair, who is not a member of the Committee attended the meeting.

- L11. MWE-810-19 Modification: MWE-810-19 Chromebooks
- L12. Approval of Resolution for the Financing of Various Vehicles
- L13. MBU-511-17 Modification: Purchase of Large Kitchen Equipment
- L14. MBU-520-16 Modification: Food Products Commercial & Commodity
- L15. JBO-707-20 Smallwares Cooking Tools and Supplies
- L16. MBU-502-16 Modification: Purchase of Electrical Supplies and Associated Material
- L17. CWA-111-20 Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA) Asbestos Inspections
- L18. CWA-121-20 Insulation Installation, Removal, Replacement & Related Services
- L19. CWA-119-20 Materials Contract: Asphalt
- L20. CWA-132-20 Materials Contract: Concrete
- L21. CWA-129-20 Gunpowder Elementary School Parking Lot Improvements
- L22. ARA-212-20 Hampton Elementary School Boiler Replacement
- L23. ARA-213-20 McCormick Elementary School Slope Repairs
- L24. JBO-717-20 Oakleigh Elementary School New Elevator Construction
- L25. JBO-723-20 Parkville High School Slope Repairs
- L26. CWA-123-20 Rodgers Forge Elementary School New Elevator Project
- L27. CWA-130-20 Rosedale Center (Original) Boiler Replacement and Water Infiltration
- L28. JLE-613-20 Sussex Elementary School Boiler Replacement
- L29. MWE-816-20 Virtual Graduation Services

## Action on Recommended Contract Awards

Ms. Rowe moved that items L1-L29 be forwarded to the full board; Mr. McMillon seconded the motion.

The motion passed.

Board Member	Favor	Against	Abstained/Did Not Vote	Absent
Henn	Х			
McMillion	Х			
Rowe	Х			

The meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

Submitted for posting on the Web site 5/6/2020